2018 International Achievement Award

The Society annually presents an award to an outstanding individual in recognition of their contributions and achievements in the resolution of public environmental concerns. There are no specific criteria, no age limitations, however, international scientific developments in toxicology are of special interest. 


John Bailey
Independent Advisor, Colors and Cosmetics
EAS Consulting Group

December 12, 2018

David Sarvadi's introduction of Dr. John Bailey,  Ph.D.

I am pleased to announce that Dr. John Bailey has been awarded the 2018 ISRTP International Achievement Award.

John Bailey is currently an Independent Advisor, Colors and Cosmetics at EAS Consulting Group, in Alexandria Va. Previously Dr. Bailey was at the Personal Care Products Council where he was responsible for providing scientific direction and support for the Council and the personal care products industry. This included direct management of scientific programs and activities, serving as liaison to other trade associations and representing the U.S. cosmetics interests to public and private stakeholders. John retired from PCPC as the Executive Vice President of Science in 2011  His research interests are focused on discerning epigenetic mechanisms underlying carcinogenesis and other chemical-induced toxicities, and testing the hypothesis that the capacity to maintain the normal epigenetic status is related inversely to susceptibility to carcinogenesis.

Prior to joining the Council, John worked for the U.S. Food and Drug Administration for more than 30 years. He served as director of FDA’s Office of Applied Research and Safety Assessment where he was responsible for research into the safety of foods and cosmetics including molecular biology, microbiology and toxicology. Prior to that, he served for many years as the director of the Office of Cosmetics and Colors and was responsible for cosmetic enforcement and compliance activities, policy development and setting of overall scientific and organizational objectives. Activities of the Office also included cosmetics and colors toxicology and chemistry research, monitoring and follow-up for consumer adverse reaction reports, the cosmetics voluntary reporting program, cosmetic product labeling, color certification and color additive petition evaluations. He has published more than 25 scientific papers and made numerous presentations at scientific meetings and regulatory workshops.

John received his B.S. degree in chemistry from the College of William and Mary and his doctorate in organic chemistry from George Washington University. He is a recipient of numerous FDA awards including the Commendable Service Award, the Scientific Achievement Award and two Awards of Merit.




  • (2018) John Bailey, Ph. D.

  • (2017) Ernest E. McConnell, DVM, MS (Path)

  • (2015) James S. Bus, Ph.D., DABT, Fellow ATS

  • (2014) Jay I. Goodman, Ph.D.

  • (2013) John Fawell, Ph.D.

  • (2012) Michael L. Gargas, Ph.D.

  • (2011) Michael G. Bird, Ph.D., FRSC

  • (2010) Gio Batta Gori, Ph.D.

  • (2009) Michael Dourson, Ph.D., DABT, ATS

  • (2008) Mildred S. Christian, Ph.D., Fellow, ATS

  • (2007) Bernard A. Schwetz, D.V.M., Ph.D. 

  • (2006) Elizabeth I. Anderson, Ph.D.

  • (2005) Jerome H. Heckman, Esq.

  • (2004) Lester M. Crawford, M.D.

  • (2003) Curtis D. Klaassen, Ph.D.

  • (2002) Donald Hughes, Ph.D.

  • (2001) Joseph F. Borzelleca, Ph.D

  • (1999) Dr. Alan Rulis, Director, Office of Premarket Approval (OPA)

  • (1998) Dr. Roger O. McClellan, President, CIIT, Research Triangle Park, NC

  • (1997) Dr. Ian C. Munro, Principal, FRCPath

  • (1996) Dr. John Higginson, Retired Professor of Medicine, Georgetown University

  • (1995) Robert C. Barnard, Esq., Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton

  • (1994) Dr. Philip Abelson, Science Magazine, Washington, DC

  • (1993) Dr. C. Jelleff Carr, Managing Editor of RTP, Columbia, MD

  • (1991) Dr. John P. Frawley, Health & Environment International, Ltd., Wilmington, DE

  • (1990) Dr. John Doull, University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, KS

  • (1989) Dr. Frederick Coulston, Coulston Foundation, Alamogordo, NM

  • (1988) Dr. Robert A. Neal, Retiring President of CIIT, Research Triangle Park, NC

  • (1987) Dr. Gaston A. Vettorazzi, Geneva, Switzerland and Dr. Frank C. Lu, Miami, FL, WHO

© 2014 ISRTP




Hit Counter