International Achievement Award

The Society annually presents an award to an outstanding individual in recognition of their contributions and achievements in the resolution of public environmental concerns. There are no specific criteria, no age limitations, however, international scientific developments in toxicology are of special interest.

2023 IAA


Samuel M. Cohen, MD, PhD
Pathology and Microbiology
University of Nebraska Medical Center






February 8, 2024

The International Society of Regulatory Toxicology and Pharmacology (ISRTP) is very pleased to announce this year’s recipient of the 2023 International Achievement Award: Dr. Samuel M. Cohen, MD, PhD, DABP, ATS, IATP, Professor, the Department of Pathology and Microbiology at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. He is also the Wall-Havlik Endowed Professor of Oncology.

Dr. Cohen has made exemplary contributions to toxicology as a practicing surgical pathologist, researcher, teacher and mentor, scientific writer, and scientific advisor on important issues at the intersection of science and public policy. His research efforts have focused on the mechanisms by which chemicals can produce toxicity and cancer and how to extrapolate findings from in vitro and animal models to humans.

He has served on numerous national and international committees and currently serves on the Board of Trustees of the Health and Environmental Sciences Institute and the Expert Panel of the Flavor and Extract Manufacturers Association.

A member of SOT since 1987, he has been recognized with the SOT Lehman and Merit Awards as well as awards from SOT Regional Chapters. He also has received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society of Toxicologic Pathology, the Distinguished Scientist Award from the American College of Toxicology, and the Distinguished Cancer Research Scientist Award from Japan.

We are most pleased to recognize Dr. Cohen for his contributions and achievements promoting sound toxicologic and pharmacologic science as a basis for regulation affecting human safety and health, and the environment.

Past IAA Recipients

  • (2021) Colin Berry, Ph. D.
  • (2020) James E. Klaunig, Ph. D.
  • (2019)  Peter Goering, Ph. D.
  • (2018) John Bailey, Ph. D.
  • (2017) Ernest E. McConnell, DVM, MS (Path)
  • (2015) James S. Bus, Ph.D., DABT, Fellow ATS
  • (2014) Jay I. Goodman, Ph.D.
  • (2013) John Fawell, Ph.D.
  • (2012) Michael L. Gargas, Ph.D.
  • (2011) Michael G. Bird, Ph.D., FRSC
  • (2010) Gio Batta Gori, Ph.D.
  • (2009) Michael Dourson, Ph.D., DABT, ATS
  • (2008) Mildred S. Christian, Ph.D., Fellow, ATS
  • (2007) Bernard A. Schwetz, D.V.M., Ph.D<>
  • (2006) Elizabeth I. Anderson, Ph.D.
  • (2005) Jerome H. Heckman, Esq.
  • (2004) Lester M. Crawford, M.D.
  • (2003) Curtis D. Klaassen, Ph.D.
  • (2002) Donald Hughes, Ph.D.
  • (2001) Joseph F. Borzelleca, Ph.D
  • (1999) Dr. Alan Rulis, Director, Office of Premarket Approval (OPA)
  • (1998) Dr. Roger O. McClellan, President, CIIT, Research Triangle Park, NC
  • (1997) Dr. Ian C. Munro, Principal, FRCPath
  • (1996) Dr. John Higginson, Retired Professor of Medicine, Georgetown University
  • (1995) Robert C. Barnard, Esq., Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton
  • (1994) Dr. Philip Abelson, Science Magazine, Washington, DC
  • (1993) Dr. C. Jelleff Carr, Managing Editor of RTP, Columbia, MD
  • (1991) Dr. John P. Frawley, Health & Environment International, Ltd., Wilmington, DE
  • (1990) Dr. John Doull, University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, KS
  • (1989) Dr. Frederick Coulston, Coulston Foundation, Alamogordo, NM
  • (1988) Dr. Robert A. Neal, Retiring President of CIIT, Research Triangle Park, NC
  • (1987) Dr. Gaston A. Vettorazzi, Geneva, Switzerland and Dr. Frank C. Lu, Miami, FL, WHO