ISRTP/RSESS Student Award

ISRTP has collaborated with the Society of Toxicology (SOT) Regulatory and Safety Evaluation Specialty Section (RSESS) annually since 2010. to contribute toward the ISRTP/RSESS student award. This is an award for the best student poster addressing an area of interest to ISRTP and is presented at the RSESS meeting at the annual SOT meeting.

ISRTP SOT/RSESS Student Awards 2021


ISRTP was pleased to present a $500 award to Ms. Mariana T. Farcas, Graduate Student in the Pharmacological and Pharmaceutical Sciences at West Virginia University, for the top abstract submitted to SOTs Regulatory and Safety Evaluation Specialty Section (RSESS) Graduate Student Excellence Award program for 2021.

Ms. Farcas’ research, “Inhalation exposure of acrylonitrile butadiene styrene filament 3-D printer emissions induces pulmonary and systemic toxicity in rats,” is the first published in vivo study to evaluate the pulmonary responses from inhalation exposure to 3-D printer emissions.

ISRTP was equally pleased to present a $500 award to Dr. Dahea You, Postdoctoral fellow, Division of National Toxicology Program, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, for the top abstract submitted to SOTs Regulatory and Safety Evaluation Specialty Section (RSESS) Postdoc Excellence Award program for 2021.

Dr. You’s abstract, “Development of a High Content Imaging Assay for Population Variability in Developmental Neurotoxicity,” looks at the synopsis and significance of your research to regulatory toxicology or safety evaluation of chemicals, drugs, foods, medical devices, etc.

Student Award Recipients to date:

2010 Ji Zhiying, School of Public Health, University of California at Berkeley
Numerical chromosome aberrations in the peripheral lymphocytes of workers exposed to low levels of benzene

2011 Corie Ellison, Pharmacology and Toxicology Dept., State University of New York at Buffalo
Construction and validation of a human PBPK/PD model for chlorpyrifos exposure using human biomarker data

2012 Dingsheng Li, Environmental Healh Science, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Physiologically-based pharmakokinetic modeling of polyethylene glycol-coated polyacrilamide nanoparticles in rats

2013 Rebecca Alyea, Post-doc in Toxicology and Environmental Research and Consulting at Dow Chemical Company
Is the current product safety assessment paradigm protective for transgenerational epigenetic effects?

2014 April D. Lake, Curriculum of Toxicology,: University of North Carolina/U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Mode of action profiles for pesticide compounds with rodent liver tumor outcomes

2015 Mira Pavkovic, Post-doc in Systems Biology, Harvard Medical School.
Early detection of kidney toxicity in humans using urinary microRNA-21,-200c and -423.

2016 Brittany Weldon, graduate student In Environmental Health and Occupational Sciences at the University of Washington.
“A framework for the derivation of a health-based occupational exposure limit for silver”.

2017 Dr. Rui Xiong, post-doctorial researcher at the U.S. FDA’s National Center for Toxicologial Research.
“Evaluating mode of action of acrolein toxicity in an in vitro human airway tissue model.”

2018 Dr. Wei-Chun Chou, a Graduate student at the Department of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences at the University of Washington.
“Bayesian Evaluation of Physiologically Based Pharmacokinetic (PBPK) Modeling for Perfluorooctanesulfonate (PFOS) to Characterize the Interspecies Uncertainty between Mice, Rats, Monkeys, and Humans”

2020 Dr. Katelyn Lavrich, Ph.D. Intramural Research Training Award (IRTA) Postdoctoral Fellow in the Biomolecular Screening Branch of the Division of the National Toxicology Program (DNTP) at the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, has received the Post-Doctoral Fellow Excellence Award – “Taking Toxicology to the Next Dimension – Evaluating the Toxicological Screening Utility of 3D Spheroid Primary Human Hepatocyte Cultures.”

2020 Luma Melo, PhD Candidate at Klaunig Lab, Indiana University, has been awarded the Graduate Student Excellence Award for “Gene Expression Signature of Dieldrin-Exposed Livers in Mice”.